Let’s Sing and Dance

Last week I drove to my good friend (and photographer extraordinaire) Pras’ wedding all the way up in the city of Toronto, Canada.  Knowing that the solo 10 hour drive was going to be brutal, I decided to make some stops along the way and check out some of the record shops that upstate New York has to offer.  This is a little selection of some of my favorite disks picked up on the trip–its definitely not the most coherent mix but it should be enjoyable same way.

Without further ado, Let’s Sing and Dance with another Ruff Luxury Mixxup

** DOWNLOAD HERE**

tracklist

The Land of Spirit and Light (Part 3) – Michael White

Lovellevelliloqui – Roland Kirk

Hot Mud – Afrique

Garden of Life – Leroy Sibbles

Solid Foundation – The Congos

Running in Tears – Jah Wanks

Talk About Freedom – Dennis Brown

Joy in the Morning – The Gaylads

I Don’t Know Why – Doreen Schaffer

Joe Razor – Roy Shirley

You Don’t Love Me – Courtney Melody

Listen, My Darling – Wilbert Harrison

Main Tulsi Tere Aangan Ki (Part 1) – Laxmikant Pyarelal

Nirgun – Dropati

Between Albany, Utica and Rochester I managed to do alright, picking up a few things like the Michael White LP and a handful of interesting reggae 45s including the Dennis Brown, the Roy Shirley, and the Jah Wanks which is a Rochester production on the Mediators! label.  Buffalo was the come up though yielding a couple of mint reggae 12s from Studio One and Black Ark along with a few nice 45s like the Afrique on Mainstream and the Wilbert Harrison on Fury.  My hopes were pretty high for Toronto since last time I made it up there I came home with a grip of King Culture productions, but this year I didn’t have much luck on the reggae side.  Lots of shops and lots of great records but prices are for the most part a long way out of my income bracket.  I did find some cool Indian 45s like the Laxmikant Pyarelal/Anand Bakshi and a few others along with Dropati’s Let’s Sing and Dance LP.

2 Comments

Filed under buffalo, dancehall, jazz, mixxups, reggae

2 responses to “Let’s Sing and Dance

  1. Lissy

    amen trizlam, thank you

  2. I’m glad you like it my friend, welcome home

Leave a Reply

